Doris M.H. Lewis Memorial Award

The Lewis Sports Foundation (LSF) awards grants to local practitioners. At least two sports professionals are presented small tokens of appreciation for their tireless work and effort to service youth. These awards are designated to provide support to each practitioner and their organization.

The Doris M.H. Lewis Memorial Practitioner Award is given to recognize outstanding effort as a teaching professional who tirelessly works in leadership and physical activity positions in the Minneapolis-St. Paul metro area. We target those individuals who teach and/or coach young people despite the odds that confront them as they succeed.

We’d like to recognize Doris M.H. Lewis Memorial Award  recipients:


Deborah Williams - St. Paul Parks & Rec

Past Recipients:

2018 - Kiara Buford - Robbinsdale Cooper
2017 - Beulah Verdell – Minneapolis North Community High School
2014 to 2016 - No award given
2013 - Linda Coleman – Merrick Community Services

2012 -Crystal Flint – Shooting Stars Girls Program
2011 - Tonyus Chavers – Richard Green Middle School